Sustainability at R S W

Climate change, resource consumption, and environmental pollution are challenges that cannot be met with neutrality: You are either part of the problem or part of the solution. At RSW, we aim to be part of the solution and make sustainability the foundation of our work!

We are not perfect (not even close), but we have a goal in mind and are in a transformation process towards a particularly sustainable design and innovation agency. Here you can find out which steps we have already taken:

Product and Interior Design

As a signatory to the "Charta for Sustainable Design," we have committed ourselves to further training in sustainable design, to working towards the most environmentally friendly and socially acceptable design possible when advising customers, as well as to resource-saving production methods and materials, and to paying attention to the durability and ease of use of our designs.

In this course, we have built up knowledge in the principle of Circular Economy (Cradle 2 Cradle) and developed a sustainable branch concept for Sparkasse Hannover with various recyclable products.

We have long worked with durable natural materials such as cork, wood, leather, and natural fibers in product design. In particular, our projects for discipline (sustainable Italian design label), hem, and Side-by-Side (sustainable design products from workshops for people with disabilities).

For high-volume products, we are always looking for alternatives to conventional plastics. This applies to both bio-based and biodegradable plastics. Here we have a direct line to the industry and a good overview of the latest developments in this field thanks to our long-standing cooperation with BASF's Creationcenter, where research into biodegradable and biobased plastics has been going on for more than thirty years.

But in our view, plastics from fossil sources can also have their place. For example, to achieve the turnaround to eMobility, lightweight, heat- and chemical-resistant high-performance plastics with good electrical and mechanical properties are indispensable. Our concept studies, such as the Concept 1865, show how these materials can contribute to more sustainable mobility.

Innovation and start-up consulting

In consulting, we are increasingly focusing our services on sustainability issues.

For example, we helped Rhenoflex to find new application areas and business fields for their innovative Green Line products (which include bio-based, biodegradable, and recycled materials) in a multi-day design thinking workshop. Rhenoflex is a leading global solution provider for reinforcement materials in the footwear and lifestyle market,

We helped the start-up out for space in a long-term collaboration to successfully position themselves on the market with their Nature Tech material karuun®.

Teaching

As lecturers in the Sustainable Entrepreneurship course at Hannover University of Applied Sciences and Arts, we introduce business administration students to sustainability topics and help them develop ideas for sustainable business models.

Studio

Mobility:
We use the bicycle or public transport almost exclusively for commuting to work.
We use the train for business trips within Germany and neighboring countries.
We offset the climate impact of our flights to international business appointments via Atmosfair.

Digital working:
We use virtual online collaboration platforms internally and when working with our clients. This enables us to...

...let our employees work creatively in their home offices and reduce the need to commute to work.

...allow customers to participate interactively and in real-time in our creative process and thus avoid business trips for unnecessary coordination and presentation meetings.

...Reduce consumption of paper and other work materials.

Energy:
We use 100% green electricity. Our supplier also invests in protecting rainforests in Ecuador and reforestation of local forests. In addition, the emitted CO2 generated by heating our rooms with gas is compensated directly by the provider, and a cooking stove project in Ghana is supported.

Our website is hosted climate neutral.

Miscellaneous:
We use a sustainable business bank account and a sustainable search engine. Our daily shared lunch is not only arguably the best in town but also organic and local. So is our coffee break with beans roasted on-site and packaging-free delivered. We source snacks in large containers to reduce packaging waste.

Do you have ideas on how we can become even more sustainable?

→ Drop us a note!
Contact
So what can we do for you? Get in touch with us!
Senden
Anmelden

Nachhaltigkeit bei R S W

Klimawandel, Ressourcenverbrauch und Umweltverschmutzung sind Herausforderungen, denen man nicht mit Neutralität begegnen kann: Man ist entweder Teil des Problems oder Teil der Lösung. Wir bei RSW haben uns das Ziel gesetzt, Teil der Lösung zu sein und Nachhaltigkeit zum Fundament unserer Arbeit zu machen!

Wir sind nicht perfekt (noch nicht mal nah dran) aber wir haben ein Ziel vor Augen und befinden uns in einem Transformationsprozess hin zu einer besonders nachhaltigen Design- und Innovationsagentur. Hier könnt ihr erfahren welche Schritte wir bereits gegangen sind:

Produkt- und Interiordesign

Als Unterzeichner der „Charta für nachhaltiges Design“ haben wir uns selbstverpflichtet uns im Sinne des nachhaltigen Designs weiterzubilden, bei der Beratung der Kunden auf ein möglichst umweltschonendes und sozial vertretbares Design sowie ressourcenschonende Produktionsweisen und Materialien hinzuwirken und auf Langlebigkeit und einfache Benutzung unserer Entwürfe zu achten.

In diesem Zuge haben wir im Bereich Circular Economy (Cradle 2 Cradle) Wissen aufgebaut und für die Sparkasse Hannover ein nachhaltiges Filialkonzept mit einer Vielzahl an kreislauffähigen Produkten entwickelt.

Im Produktdesign arbeiten wir schon lange mit langlebigen Naturmaterialien, wie Kork, Holz, Leder und Naturfasern. Insbesondere seien hier unsere Projekte für discipline (nachhaltiges italienisches Designlabel), hem und Side-by-Side (nachhaltige Designprodukte aus Werkstätten für Menschen mit Behinderung) genannt.

Für Großserienprodukte sind wir immer auf der Suche nach alternativen zu herkömmlichen Kunststoffen. Das betrifft sowohl biobasierte als auch bioabbaubare Kunststoffe. Hier haben wir durch unsere langjährige Zusammenarbeit mit der Creationcenter von BASF, wo seit mehr als dreißig Jahren an bioabbaubaren und biobasierten Kunststoffen geforscht wird, einen direkten Draht in die Industrie und einen guten Überblick über die neuesten Entwicklungen in diesem Bereich.

Aber auch Kunststoffe aus fossilen Quellen können aus unserer Sicht ihre Berechtigung haben. So sind, um die Wende hin zur eMobility zu schaffen, besonders leichte, hitze- und chemikalienbeständige Hochleistungskunststoffe mit guten elektrischen und mechanischen Eigenschaften unverzichtbar. Mit unseren Konzeptstudien, wie dem Concept 1865 zeigen wir, wie diese Materialien einen Beitrag zu einer nachhaltigeren Mobilität leisten können.

Innovations- und Startupberatung

In der Beratung rücken wir Nachhaltigkeitsthemen immer mehr in den Fokus unserer Dienstleistung.

So haben wir Rhenoflex einem weltweit führender Lösungsanbieter für Verstärkungsmaterialien im Schuh- und Lifestyle-Markt dabei unterstützt, im Rahmen eines mehrtägigen Design-Thinking-Workshops neue Anwendungsgebiete und Geschäftsfelder für ihre innovativen Green-Line-Produkte (die biobasierte, biologisch abbaubare und Recycling- Materialien umfassen) zu finden.

Dem Start-Up Out For Space haben wir in einer langjährigen Zusammenarbeit dabei geholfen sich mit ihrem Nature Tech Material karuun® erfolgreich am Markt zu positionieren.

Lehre

Als Lehrbeauftragte im Kurs Sustainable Entrepreneurship an der Hochschule Hannover führen wir Studierende der Betriebswirtschaftslehre an Nachhaltigkeitsthemen heran und helfen ihnen dabei Ideen für nachhaltige Geschäftsmodelle zu entwickeln. Im Studiengang Produkt Design steht in den geleiteten Kursen die Kreislaufwirtschaft im Fokus.

Studio

Mobilität:
Wir nutzen für Arbeitswege fast ausschließlich das Fahrrad oder den ÖPNV.
Für Geschäftsreisen innerhalb Deutschlands und ins benachbarte Ausland nutzen wir den Zug.
Die Klimawirkung unserer Flüge zu internationalen Geschäftsterminen kompensieren wir über Atmosfair.

Digitales Arbeiten:
Wir nutzen sowohl intern als auch in der Zusammenarbeit mit unseren Kunden virtuelle Online Kollaborations-Plattformen. Damit können wir...

...unseren Mitarbeitern auch im Home-Office kreatives Arbeiten ermöglichen und das Pendeln zur Arbeit reduzieren.

...Kunden interaktiv und in Echtzeit an unserem Kreativprozess teilhaben lassen und damit Geschäftsreisen für unnötige Abstimmungs- und Präsentationstermine vermeiden.

...Verbrauch von Papier und anderen Arbeitsmaterialien reduzieren.


Energie:
Wir nutzen zu 100% Ökostrom. Unser Anbieter investiert darüber hinaus in den Schutz der Regenwälder in Ecuador und in Aufforstung heimischer Wälder. Das emitierte CO2, welches durch die Beheizung unserer Räume mit Gas entsteht, wird direkt vom Anbieter kompensiert und ein Kochofenprojekt in Ghana gefördert.

Unsere Website wird klimaneutral gehostet.


Und sonst?
Wir nutzen ein nachhaltiges Geschäftskonto und eine nachhaltige Suchmaschine. Unser täglicher gemeinsamer Mittagstisch ist nicht nur der wohl beste der Stadt, sondern auch biologisch und regional. Genauso wie unsere Kaffeepause mit vor Ort gerößteten Bohnen. Snacks beziehen wir in großen Gebinden um Verpackungsmüll zu reduzieren.

Habt ihr Ideen, wie wir noch nachhaltiger werden können?

→ Sendet uns eine E-Mail!​​​​
Kontakt
Was können wir für Sie tun? Melden Sie sich bei uns!
Senden
Anmelden